What is Yoga?

“Yogaschitta vritti nirodhah”  [ Yoga Sutras 1.2 ]
“To block the pattern of consciousness is yoga”
Yoga means union. Yoga is a way of life, an integrated system of education for the body, mind and soul. This art of living was perfected and practiced in India thousands of years ago. But since yoga deals with the Universal Truth, its teachings areas  valid today as they were in ancient times. Yoga is a science, not a religion, and its techniques may be practiced by all. Yoga is the union of all.
The 4 different paths of Yoga
1. Karma Yoga – the path of selfless service.
” Thy right is to work only, but never with its fruits; let the fruits of action be not thy motive, nor let thy attachment be to inaction .” [Bhagavad Gita 2.47]
2. Bhakti Yoga – the path of devotion.
“Whoever offers me with devotion – a leaf, a flower, a fruit or a little water – that, so offered devotedly by the pure-minded, I accept.” [Bhagavad Gita 9.26]
3. Jnana Yoga – the path of knowledge.
“But he who knows the Truth, O mighty armed (Arjuna) about the division of the qualities and (their) functions, knowing that the Gunas as senses move amidst the Gunas as the sense-objects is not attached.”  [ Bhagavad Gita 3.28 ]
4. Raja Yoga – the path of controlling the mind.
“Little by little let him attain to quietude by the intellect held firmly; having made the mind establish itself in the Self let him not think of anything.” [Bhagavad Gita 6.25]

Who can do Yoga?

Yuva vrddho’tivrddho va vyadhito durbalo’pi va
abhyasat siddhim apnoti sarvayogesvatandritah
Whether young, old or too old, sick or lean – one who discards laziness, gets success if he practices yoga. [1.66 Hatha Yoga Pradipika] 
Yoga may be practiced by everyone regardless of age, sex or physical abilities.



- View All